Proving you’re a real character on Twitter

My first port of call after checking my emails each morning is Twitter.

And I’d be reasonably confident that’s the case for most journalists.

But it’s also the default option for many of the movers and shakers in our communities – from the politicians and business leaders to the campaigners and commentariat.

So it was good to see editors of the papers that I work with in my part of the Local World world doing well in a new league table, highlighted in a Hold the Front Page report today.

As I said in an earlier blog I strongly believe that we need to be working harder to engage with our communities, to explain our decisions and news judgement, and to seek feedback over our coverage.

Although Facebook may prove more effective in driving people to our best stories, Twitter remains a great way of proving there’s a human face behind them.

Leave a Reply

